Road Rage, Murder, Protest and Repression in New Maadi, Cairo.

If you have the bandwidth, watch it on youtube in HD.

Just to be clear about it:

There was a road rage incident, involving a police officer, who got out of his car and (allegedly) shot a mini-bus driver. Protests erupted spontaneously. I happened upon them and started filming.

Then, about half a dozen guys, headed by the guy in the suit who appears on the video towards the end (just before the shaky bit) decided to get rid of me. They mobbed me and tried to rip my camera off me. Thank god the strap was strong. My camera bag was not so sturdy and was rippedoff. They got my wallet (which contained around $200-300) and my 250 mil lens and my dictaphone, as well as a few other bits and pieces.

Other people came and helped pull me free. When I got away I realised my pinky finger was broken.

About Austin G. Mackell

I am a freelance journalist who has worked for a variety of corporate and community outlets from my hometown of Sydney and from the Middle East, including from Lebanon during Israels 2006 invasion and from Iran during the tumultuous presidential elections there in 2009. I have recently moved to Cairo to watch the revolutions in Arab world unfold.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Road Rage, Murder, Protest and Repression in New Maadi, Cairo.

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Road Rage, Murder, Protest and Repression in New Maadi, Cairo. | The Moon Under Water -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

