Anzac Day special from El Alamein

The following are a some photos from the memorials to the soldiers from the Italian and Commonwealth forces that died in the battle of El Alamein. I went there a on Saturday with Giordano Ciampini (who will soon also have a post on his blog about it, with way better photos).  It was interesting as both of us had a grandfather and a great uncle fighting in the North African Campaign during the second world war, though on different sides. Mine with the Australian Imperial Forces and his with the Italian Army.  You will notice I paid special attention to the graves of the men from the 2/17th Batallion, which is the regiment my grandfather served with.


Gio looks out over the old battlefield.

Me and Gio together at the Italian memorial. There is a sister-shot to this, of us both at the Australian memorial, over on his blog.

A plaque at the Australian Memorial


The emblems of the 9th Division.

About Austin G. Mackell

I am a freelance journalist who has worked for a variety of corporate and community outlets from my hometown of Sydney and from the Middle East, including from Lebanon during Israels 2006 invasion and from Iran during the tumultuous presidential elections there in 2009. I have recently moved to Cairo to watch the revolutions in Arab world unfold.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anzac Day special from El Alamein

  1. Alison Lyon (daughter of Cecil Greenwood-2/17th) says:

    Hi Austin, I sat next to your father at this years Anzac luncheon. I listened with great interest when your father discussed you being at Alemien on our Anzac Day. I felt as though my hairs stood on end and was very moved at the thought of your grandfathers spirit being there with you. I am always touched when I realise the next generation feels the spirit of our beloved diggers.
    I introduced your father to my mother and the first thing she said was that she remember your Grandfather so well. She also said my father always thought so highly of him and the fact he was such a fine soldier and friend.
    Keep up the good work and I sincerely hope your dreams come to fruition and you are recognized for your passion & professionalism.
    It really was delightful to receive the email and I am sure others who are members of the 2/17th Assoc enjoyed it as much as myself.
    Kind Regards, Alison

Leave a Reply

