Atomic Truth Bomb Dropped on FOX News

Today I have had a good day with live phone interviews. Mainly with CBC who seemed to appreciate me mixing from-the-ground reporting with analysis of the situation including the decisive role American pressure will have on the decisions made by the the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces, who are running the country. Then something interesting happened. The same agency that connected me with CBC handed FOX News my details. this had happened once before, during the uprising following the 2009 presidential elections in Iran. In fact it was the first gig the agency ever got me. I had done it then but had very mixed feelings about the whole thing. In the end I stood by the fact I had never lied, and took comfort in my father’s angle on the whole thing, which was that if I was telling the truth on FOX I was making it better, and that that was a good thing.

I decided to take that idea to the extreme. I agreed to do the live cross, and then, after giving a few sentences describing the dramatic scenes unfolding, I switched into this rant which I wrote while waiting for the call:

…It reminded me of the last time I was on fox news, which was back in 2009 during the uprising in Iran.

Of course what is shocking is that while they are a rogue state outside the American led world system where as Egypt is the second biggest recipient of military aid in the world after Israel. getting 1.3 billion a year

America keeps the generals who are running this crackdown afloat. They are funding and supplying this oppression. Of course Israel is a big part of this. Israel fears a democratic Egypt because they know the people of Egypt would not tolerate Israel’s constant atrocities against the Palestinians and other fellow Arabs. So America has to choose between pushing for democracy in Egypt and elsewhere, and forcing Israel to restrain it’s aggression, or sponsoring state terror across the arab world so Israel is free to commit war crimes without facing any serious consequences.

Of course access to the Suez canal and oil also plays a part, as does silence over American aggression in places like Iraq.

America does have other interests in Egypt, but given the way money and lobbyists run Washington, it’s Israel and oil that are calling the shots on American foreign policy here.

That’s not what I said word for word, but it is what I wrote up (I’ve corrected spelling etc) in the short time I had between getting to my laptop and going on air.

I haven’t been able to find a video rip of the interview yet but i know by contact with @DonnieReillyMMA that it did go live. I am so glad to have gotten away with it. If any one does find a video rip please let me know!

About Austin G. Mackell

I am a freelance journalist who has worked for a variety of corporate and community outlets from my hometown of Sydney and from the Middle East, including from Lebanon during Israels 2006 invasion and from Iran during the tumultuous presidential elections there in 2009. I have recently moved to Cairo to watch the revolutions in Arab world unfold.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Atomic Truth Bomb Dropped on FOX News

  1. ash says:

    great job on fox! you nailed the part for “Top Queer for Tahrir” The Arabs will put it in your rear when you wanna demand your freedom of speech…. go ahead bash the US and Israel you ungrateful ________. when you bite the had that fed you, you deserve whatever you get!

  2. You, sir, are an absoloute legend. I bet a couple of million Americans choked on their cornflakes to hear their government has been giving Egypt $1.3 billion a year – and Israel more – through the worst financial crisis in a century. Although if you’d had time to describe how the “corruption” America is so opposed to in this region is the way that money goes straight to the Generals for them to buy up huge swathes of Egyptian industry, they may have died of shock. Well grubbed, old mole!

  3. DSchoen says:

    Ya mean 3 billion? That’s what Carter negotiate at his camp David accord. We pay Israel and Egypt not to kill each other, strange but true. Seriously you didn’t already know this? It’s been common knowledge since 1979

  4. Pingback: Solidarity with the Uprising of the People of Egypt « KADAITCHA

  5. Evildoer says:

    Oh boy, I WANT TO SEE THAT SEGMENT!!!!!

Leave a Reply

